We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

O Sweet Exorcism

by Thomas Urv

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €7 EUR  or more


Mjondalen 05:50
Unease 08:23
HZ 06:48
Kalle Rød 07:08


Thomas Urv, co-founder of Norwegian techno label and event series PLOINK, readies his debut album.
Whilst the label was launched in 2014, the event series celebrated 20 years in 2016 - releasing music from
Scandinavian talents such as Prins Thomas, Mental Overdrive, Christian Tilt, +plattform and Skatebård.
Alongside PLOINK co-founder Miss Mostly, Thomas Urv has been a key figure in Norway’s electronic music scene since acquiring a taste for it back in 1990 as a 14 year old. He’s since gone on to play alongside the likes of Jeff Mills, Marcel Dettmann, Radio Slave and Ben Sims at his PLOINK parties when not making appearances at fabric (London) and Berghain (Berlin), not to mention festivals like ADE and Bestival.

All seven tracks on ‘O Sweet Exorcism’ were conceived over the last six years and generate a varied package from start to finish.
The long player begins with the lively melodies and shuffling effects in "Mjøndalen" before the meandering drums and echoing nuances of "Conga Lightning". Distorted vocals join layers of sweeping gloomy sounds in "Cat’s Called Elektra" making way for "Unease", which earns its name from its overall ominous aesthetic. Past the halfway point the album becomes increasingly high-octane with the crashing snares and wild arpeggios of "HZ", followed by the dark and abyssal "Kalle Rød", and concluding with intricate synths and soaring pads in "Roland og Fjellbunkeren".

DJ Feedback:
* Laurent Garnier (none)
'Excellent LP '

* Mark Broom
'Super solid album, will def be using Mjondalen. Thanks.'

* Henning Baer ((Grounded Theory))
'Unease for me!'

* Mor Elian (Prime Numbers)
'Love it'

* Zak (DVS1)

* Rush Plus (Rush Plus DC, Behzad Et Amarou Records)
'some cool tracks in here, thanks for sending '

* Neil (Nail)
'Cor yeah this is ace! Cat's Called Elektra!! Cheers, N x'

* Dakini9 (Plan B Recordings / Sound Warrior)
'Some seriously mental tracks here, with Unease and Roland Og Fnellbunkeren being my favorites. '

* Ben Sims
'digging hz + kalle, thx!'

* Leftfield (Leftfield)
'very fresh..love Conga lightening '

* Lo Shea (Hope Works / Phonica)
'Another SUPERB Ploink release.Lots to love here, but Unease,HZ,Roland Og Fjellbunkeren and of course Mjondalen stick right out! Support.x'

* Bleak (Delsin, Deeply Rooted, Naura)
'Thomas Urv - Roland Og Fjellbunkeren - PLOINK is my fav! Thanks'

* Santiago Salazar (DJ S2)
'nice trancey feel on HZ! I also dig Cat's Called Elektra'

* Quinn Taylor (Young Male (Work Them/White Material))
'Nice acid lines, Kalle Rod and HZ for me. Interesting record '

* Norman Methner (UNCAGE)
'def need to check this out more properly. but what i heard so far sounded good to me. Thank you'

* Martin (The Black Dog)
'Nice and wonky, makes a fucking change after listening to 2000 Jeff Mills copies.'

* Johannes Volk (Dolly / Axis / Sistrum)
'Thanks! That last track is really cool!'

*(Twitter) Scuba
'The new @thomasurv release is absolutely wicked'


released February 13, 2017

All tracks written, produced, and mixed by Thomas Fester Paulsen
Mixed by Oliver Lieb/Ihaudo Services

©PLOINK 2017, PL014NK
All rights reserved, planned outside EU, executed within.


Photography by Einar "There Can Be Only One" Sira
Design by Delikatessen
Mastering and lacquer cut by Mike Grinser @ Dubplates & Mastering, Berlin

This release production is generously supported by the Municipality of Bergen (NO).


all rights reserved



PLOINK Bergen, Norway

PLOINK is a techno label from Norway launched in 2014. By January 2021 we have 27 releases in store! Artists we've signed so far include CementO, Chiraya, Christian Tilt, Dortmund, Espen Lauritzen, Fraunhofer, Henrik S, Hutmacher, Joaquin Ruiz, Kahuun, KSMISK, Mental Overdrive, Mind over MIDI, Nordenstam, Priq, Roeglin, Saftronic, Skatebård, Thomas Urv, Urhaug, Vakum and + plattform. ... more

contact / help

Contact PLOINK

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account